In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the article has suggested the Prunty County must adopt the solutions implemented by the Butler County to improve the Highway safety, since the solutions implemented by the Prunty County failed. There are a lot of loop holes and error in the comparison made and the related solutions given to improvise the highway safety in Prunty County. The solutions given to improvise the highway safety in Prunty County is certainly not strong enough to get the desired results.

Firstly, it has been suggested that Prunty County must adopt the methods implemented by Bulter County, but Butler county had increased their lane width , which can been done in Prunty as well, but for increasing the lane width, the area required to widen the lane would need space, also it will take a while for the roads to be constructed in order to reduce the highway accidents. Butler County took five years to carry out the highway safety, so if Prunty must carry out so it will need sometime to widen their lane.

Also, the percent of incidents reported in Butler County is also dubious, as the percent reported in the argument is for only the past year. To analyze the effects of safety measures taken by Butler County, we need the no of incidents reported in last five years after the safety measures were implemented. The movement of vehicles on the highway in Butler County and Prunty County is also not clear, whether how many numbers of vehicles commute from their highway, so to compare, it is required to have proper data. A proper data of all the accidents occurred in the years after highway safety implemented.

Secondly, even after reducing the speed limit in Prunty County the accidents have not been decereased, there can be various reason, the drivers must not be aware about the changes made in the speed limit because of which the they might be exceeding the speed limit. There must be some sign boards to show the passing by drivers about the change in the speed limit. If the speed limit was inidcated the possibility of drivers exceeding speed limit would have been lesser.

To achieve highway safety, Prunty County needs to show or tell the passing by drivers about the reduced speed limit, so that there are lesser accidents and speed limit is not exceeded. The solution provided by the author requires more clarification, how would the solution would help achieve highway safety in Prunty County.