All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

While working in a group, you need to have collective inputs from each and every person, to get the desird output. Similarly, in a comapny with employees, where-in company tend to hire more consultants, when they are having enough employees, the companies efficiency won't increase that much. I completely disagree with the fact that companies hiring consultants in order to increase their efficiency, when they have employees.

Firstly, whenever a new consultant is hired, it is required for the company to train the consultant, provide him with knowledege that would be required for working in the company. Various tools, methods that are implemented for the functioning of company, whereas when the company already has employees with the required knowledge, it becomes feasible for a company for getting the desired output, which would be efficient and completed in given time. Consultants would require time, processing about how the process works around in the company they have been assigned. This would take certain time and the work would be delayed. So it is better to assign task to employees rather than getting consultants, if time and efficiency is the factor of consideration.

Also, if we observe hired consultants have a large payscale in comparison to the employees. This would impact the total profit of the company as well. For example, If a person say Mr.John and Mr.Pete are the consultants hired to do similar job like Mrs.Kate, who is an employee in the company. But John and Pete are less experienced then Kate, whereas Kate is well experienced, but John and Pete are hired to do the job of Kate, the efficiency provided by both of them will be less and the delivery would be late. Also John and Pete are receiving more pay then Kate, this would hamper companies profit and efficiency.

Thirdly, when hiring consultants while having employees to work, would discourage the morale and confidence that employees have. It would hamper the working environment, where-in employees might tend to feel ignored and would put less input in the task assgined to them. In the above example of John, Pete and Kate, Kate might tend to feel ignored and might put less efforts in the task given to her. Also, when companies hire consultants, employees who have longer plan to stay in the same company and flourish, might get disinterested in the company.

In order, to have better efficiency, companies should focus on the resources they have and try to encourage them, to put better inputs in the companies progress. Hiring new consultants would discourage the existing employees and in turn reduce revenue of the company.Companies should train their employees and work together to get the efficiency.