In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In the given writing, the author concludes that in order to reduce the number of accidents and to increase the safety of highways , the Prunty County should undertake the project of improving their roads as done by the Butler County which showed decrease in the number of accidents even when the speed limit is not reduced marking it as a evidence. The following discussion unfolds the various stated as well as unstated assumptions and the effect that they have on argument.

Firstly, in order to bring the conclusion to hold ground the traffic condition on both the highways must be comparable.

There can be a scenario, for example, The Prunty County may be deals with large number of trucks and cars on day to day basis as compared to that of the Butler county which may see very less traffic. This may be the very reason for reducing the accidents on the Butler county because there are few users of these county as compared to the other. On the other hand, it may be also possible that the butler county has more traffic, but because of the improved road conditions the accidents have reduced. If the first example becomes true then the conclusion is flawed and if the second example becomes true the conclusion will be based on the second assumption of road conditions.

The author states that the road were improved five years ago, which may be possible that the road conditions have debased over this time. Moreover, we can also say that the roads on these two high ways are assumed to be comparable which may be not. For example, it may be the case that the road condition is better than the Puntry condition and therefore the conclusion is flawed.