Your friend has decided to switch careers, but isn’t sure which to choose. What advice would you give them? Provide reasons and examples to support your response.

Some people even experts argue that young people should look outwards that is towards the market demands, job opportunities and choose a careers based on these points. However, I strongly disagree with such view points and argue that the choice of career or switching of career should be a decision made after looking inwards that is after looking for personal interest and passion in the career to be pursued and support by viewpoint by giving two examples.

First of all, the decision of career switching is an important decision in any person’s life and therefore has to be given prime importance. The decision has to be made considering the long term goals and passion and not the current scenario because the market is very dynamic in nature. What is considered as a good job in the present times will be obsolete in the near future. To survive this fall and rise of market, it is necessary that the person should have passion. For example, advent of the 2nd world war was market growing demand of nuclear scientists bit now considering its adverse effects on nature and health, it is not considered to be in great demand. The above example very clearly indicates that if this decision was made based on outwards points then the switching of careers has to be done more frequently which is undesired. If the decision is taken based on the passion that is by looking inwards then if the market changes because the person likes the subject and path of career, he or she will continue to work thus making the decision very effective.

Secondly, it is also important for the person to be happy in the career that is chosen because then the happiness index of the person will be high and he or she will choose to stick to this career even if fluctuations are seen or the market is disrupted. For instance, I wanted to pursue organic chemistry and while doing so I feel happy thus increasing my interest in the subject even more , on the other hand , if a person who had passion for marketing but is still working for an IT firm as a coder will not fulfill the duties or responsibilities assigned to the individual and thus gets into the list of inefficient employee. The above example very clearly states that the choice of career and the decision to change the career should be made considering the happiness of the individual to sustain in the path for long runs and helps to grab opportunities whenever presented with one.

The factors on which this decision should be made differ from person to person and therefore is a complex issue to tackle. The people who support taking this decision on the outwardly nature may be even right as in the case of information technology which is now quite a stable market therefore has lot of opportunities. I prefer that the decision of changing the career should be made on the basis of genuine interest in the career with unmatched passion and the happiness of the individual while pursuing this career path to get the best results from efforts.