Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Some people advocate that children should be handed with smart phones for keeping in touch and also for being connected to the wide amount of information on the internet. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that young children should be kept aloof using smart phones. I support my viewpoint with three reasons and examples as stated below.

First of all, the young children have very dynamic and curious minds which are inclined towards learning new things and experiencing new things leading to development of imagination. Now a days, variety of research shows that the feeling of curiosity, aliveness of the children, the power of imagination have been suppressed because of the access to internet and smartphones these young children have. For example, My sister who is 8 years of age, has more screen time and less of creative or imaginative process such as drawing, painting, clay modelling the children of mostly play with which helps in increasing their imagination. If you ask my sister about a meaning of a word she will try to find on internet rather than in the dictionary where she can more words which may interest her and she might read about it. Therefore, If any young child does not have access to the internet, he or she will try to indulge into activities of sports making the child physically active, and imaginative in actions. The above example very clearly demonstrates how the thinking ability of these children is made like a tunnel and look for solutions or information at only one place.

Secondly, the young children have less of an interaction about some real topics with their friends or family. They fail to nurture social relations and social skills whose importance is unmatched considering that we live in a society. The internet can moreover influence these young minds and change their perspective of what is right or wrong since all the information on the internet is not authentic. Majority of young people showing signals of mental health degradation have reported access to internet at very young age. For example, any child who has never interacted with people a lot grows into an introvert leading to burden of society on such individuals because they have no real friends. A negative example of the same could be , the 90s kinds who did not enjoy the luxury of internet till their 20s had actually good social presence and skills to develop social contacts which is confirmed by latest research as well.

To conclude, the internet also acts as a boon to these young students in terms of supplying information and allows to learn , understand and be in contact with their parents any point of time but has more disadvantages because its access cannot be controlled nor timed at this present age and hence it is a very complex to deal with. In my viewpoint, the internet access should not be granted to young children because its curbs their imaginative growth along with suppressing the felling of curiosity. It further devoid the individual of communication and important social skills making the situation worse for such individuals.