"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The claim supports that in Balmer island, the kind of transportation used are mopeds and, as the population increases during the summer months, the town council decided to limit the number of mopeds rented during this season. By limiting the number of rentals, the council believes that will attain the 50 percent annual reduction of accidents, similar achievement by seavilles's town which enforced same limits of rentals. Nevertheless, the statement presents some dubious questions which needs to be discussed.

According to what is said, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months and for this reason, to decrease the number of accidents, the rental mopeds companies will suffered a reduction. In the other hand, it is not explained the relation between the increase of population during summer and the number of accidents. The number of accidents could happen for several reasons, such as the lack of instructions saying the best ways to drive a moped, or absense of laws and rules for this kind of transportation.

The second point is the comparison between Balmer island and Seaville's town. One of the reasons that the council recommended this solution is because the neighboard island enforced the same limits on moped rentals. However, it is not explained if this was the only solution which the town did. Also, the author said that they did similar limits. So, this recommendation is not perfectly accurate. The neighboring island could have endorsed multiple solutions instead of the limitation of rentals, such as restraint the speed limit, and hours per day the population should drive the mopets.

Furthermore, regarding the comparison between both towns, the author did not mentioned the number of population. Definetely, towns that are more populated have more probability to happen accidents. For example, if you compare Sao Paulo (Brazil) and Buenos Aires (Argentina), the population is 12 million and 3 million, respectively. surely the number of accidents in Sao Paulo is higher than Buenos Aires . For this reason, the analogy between Balmer island and Seaville is not correct.

Therefore, the reccomendation of Balmer island's council to reduce the moped rental during summer is not appropriate. better solutions could be authorized and surely would have better results regarding the improvement of accident's numbers. Besides, this solutions would not only improve the number of accidents in summer, but others seasons too.