"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author makes several unstated assumptions and hence, is not well reasoned. While it may be true that accidents are increasing on Balmer Island during the summer season, this author's unsubstantiated argument utterly fails to weave a cogent case to prove it.

Firstly, the majority of accidents aren't caused by the increasing number of vehicles but when then traffic rules aren't being implemented by the populace. Therefore, there might be a probability that the accidents are increasing in Balmer Island due to the remission of traffic rules by the people. There might not be traffic police and so the people are violating the traffic rules by driving with hazardous speed and eventually causing accidents. Therefore, it might be a blunder to impute the accidents to an increasing number of mopeds without checking the above-stated possibility.

Secondly, there is a necessity to point out about the condition of the roads. Pedestrians should walk either on the footpath or they have to use the zebra crossing to cross the roads. There might be a possibility of not having footpath on the roads on which people can walk. In addition to this, there may be a possibility that zebra crossing has faded out and so the people might be crossing roads at some dangerous places. It is therefore a necessity to check the condition of the roads than reducing the moped rentals limit.

Thirdly, there must be more number of speed breakers to avoid accidents. There could be a possibility of only few speed breakers on the roads. The speed breakers are the very essential thing on the roads that control the speed of the mopeds thereby reducing the accidents involving mopeds and people. It might be a drawback of the town council for not establishing the more number of speed breakers and inturn for not checking them during the summer season.

In recapitulation, the author makes several unaddressed assumptions that gravely undermines its tenability. Unless these underlying assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart, and the conclusion that limiting the rentals of moped would reduce accidents could be flawed.