"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding opening a cafe in Monarch Books. Taken as a whole, these unwarranted assumptions render argument highly suspect. Indeed, if the unstated assumptions do not hold true, then the argument totally falls apart.

The argument assumes that opening a cafe in Monarch Books would attract customers as it states Monarch Books has a large customer base. Establishing a cafe might be attractive, but there is a necessity to think about the squander that would be engendered at that place. When the milieu of the book store is filled with rubbish it will be unable to attract the large customer base Monarch Books has. On the other hand, the cafe needs to play some mellifluous music but it might be perturbing the customers who are searching for books.

Another unstated assumption the argument assumes is that the space for cafe can be allocated by discontinuing the children's book section and the reason for discontinuing is children's section will be less popular since the national census indicated a decline in the people under age ten. The children under age ten in the nation may be declining, however, the argument didn't present the statistics of children population of the area where Monarch Books is running. It may be contingent that pivotal profit for the Monarch Book store may be coming from the children section. Unless the argument can show that there is decline in the population of children under age ten in the area where Monarch Books is present, the recommendation would be useless.

Another pivotal error the argument makes is opening a cafe in Monarch Books can attract more customers and better vie with the Regel Books which recently opened a cafe. Regel Books may have opened a cafe but the argument does not provide the information on whether Regel Books have attracted its more customers than it had hitherto. In order to efface this ambiguity, the argument should provide the before and after customer base of Regel Books.

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart, and the recommendation that opening a cafe in Monarch Books would attract more customers could be flawed.