In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue whether the past achievements within a field have a strong influence to make a significant contribution to the realm the that endeavor. Indisputably, past achievements may not be needed in some exceptional cases. On a balance, I tend to agree that past achievements strongly have an impact on the contribution to a field. However, to substantiate my case, this essay will provide my reasons and examples.

One compelling argument that past achievements have a strong impact on contribution in any field is the amount of experience gained through each experience would make the next one more achievement even more fruitful. A popular maxim that can also be taken into account is "Practice makes a man perfect". For example, Mark Zuckerburg, the CEO of Facebook, once stated that he coded many programs before finding Facebook, and finally he is successful. The knowledge he built designing different programs helped him in designing Facebook.

Another compelling argument against such past achievements is they exhort you to go forward. They not only remain as mere past achievements but also encourage by pushing forward. Such achievements increase the competitive spirit. For instance, consider Bill Gates, the founder of Microsoft, he has many achievements, still, the Microsoft corporation works so hard to make a significant contribution.

However, those who disagree with my view argue that there are exceptional people who are capable of being propitious without any past achievements. It might be true there are such people but people who accumulate experience through past achievements may transcend the exceptional people. One the other hand, even the exceptional ones need past achievements to be more successful.

In recapitulation, it can be apprised that past achievements have a strong impact on the significant contribution in any field of endeavor since excpetional achievements are less.