Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the decline in the population of deer. Taken as a whole, the unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, then the argument totally falls apart.

The argument assumes that the decrease in deer population can be imputed to the deer inability to follow their migration patterns as the argument stated " deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea". Unfollowing the migrations may cause a reduction in the deer population, but that doesn't mean that all the deer unfollowed migration. There may be a probability of deer getting affected by some infectious disease. Indeed the disease might be due to some contamination in their food and water they drink.

Another unstated assumption the argument makes is that reports from local hunters about the deer population are coinciding with the reports from global warming that melted the sea ice. Thus, even if the reports may be true, the reason for the decline in deer population need not be necessarily beacuse of deer inability to follow migrations patterns. The deer might be killed by some predators during the migration eventually reducing deer population. Unless the argument can show a clear reason that the decline in deer population in due their incapability in following of age-old migration patterns, the argument could be wrong.

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart, the conclusion that the decline in deer population is due to unfollowing migrations patterns across the frozen sea could be flawed.