The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

From the beginning of time, collaboration helped us survive and flourish as a species. I strongly agree with the statement and argue that the ability to work in a team is a very precious skill to attain and a much more critical element than the competition. In this essay, I will develop my argument, basing it on two main reasons.

First of all, the majority of institutions nowadays value and even require the prospect graduates to be able to work well with their peers. For instance, I was researching a plethora of job opportunities and found out that ninety percent of employers have this point as a primary requirement. More specifically, in investment banking, even though there is a highly competitive atmosphere, the only way to attain high peaks is by relying on your colleagues. Usually, in the morning, all the employees sit at the table and discuss the main transaction that should be done, and the complexity of the process increases if not being done in complete synergy. The point afore-mentioned illustrates the idea that nowadays the majority of industries' employees perform their jobs in teams even though competition persists.

Secondly, by instilling a sense of cooperation, we eliminate the effect of "putting a stick in the wheel" of your teammate. In other words, society should be educated in a way that no one impedes someone's else success even though this would put yourself on a higher ladder. For example, a trivial school project demands pupils to work in groups, but usually, the job is done individually, and everybody puts effort for their own benefit, not for the teams as a whole. One might say that this is a good idea, as everybody will perform at their maximum capabilities, and the project will be accomplished successfully. However, these situations bring problems like "lack of delegation" or "working on the same points twice and neglecting other". But the most important detrimental part is that students might impede the performance of others so that his job is put in a better light. The elements above show that if there is a lack of cooperation spirit, competition portraits a devastating effect.

One might say that competition is the main driver of society. However, we would have never succeeded as human beings if we have not cooperated in the first place. We used to hunt together and protect each other from other predators. If the only competition were in place, I would not be writing right now this essay.