The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

In the given Issue prompt, the author avers that the best methodology to teach is to praise positive actions but at the same time ignore negative ones. The reasoning behind author stating this could be the emotional stress associated with chiding someone. However, one needs to consider the graveness of the negative action committed before deciding whether to admonish the student or ignore his actions.

Consider for instance a kid who has consistently performed well in studies but has a tendency to overreact and get into fights. Should this behavior be tolerated? Of course not. A person is defined by the behavioral qualities rather than the achievements. If a person has graduated from Ivy league schools but can’t work in a team, no company would like to hire him or nobody would like to work for him. Thus, one cannot ignore the negative actions while at the same time praise all positive ones as it would do more harm than good. It would instill a sense of superiority instead of humility.

Lance Armstrong – seven times consecutive winner of “Tour de France” was praised when he won the races. But later he was stripped of all his titles. Why? Because his involvement in a protracted doping scandal surfaced. Just because he had won those races, can his involvement in a doping scandal be ignored? No. This is because what he did was wrong and there is no denying that. Thus, it is necessary to take corrective actions if a grave crime is committed.

Conversely, on might argue that not all negative actions should deserve punishments. Some can be ignored. For instance, in India, on the occasion of International Yoga Day, the Prime Minister carried and used a handkerchief which had the Indian National Flag printed on it. At once all the opposition parties accused him of committing sacrilege. They demanded that the Prime Minister should be stripped of his esteemed office and be jailed for perpetrating such a petty crime. This of course is preposterous. Some things need to be ignored and not all negative actions should involve punitive actions.

In a nutshell, what is important to consider is the graveness of the negative action. The best way to teach is not to always praise good actions and ignore negative ones. One needs to analyze the negative actions and then decide whether the perpetrator of the negative action(crime) is worth to be reprimanded.