Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

In the given argument, Because Happy Pancake House locations in the Southwest use margarine rather than butter, logic dictates that locations in the Southeast and Northeast should do the same. The narrator presents statistics to substantiate the notion that butter may eventually supplant margarine in the Southwest. A closer examination of the data reveals that they do not support, but rather undermine, the argument. Each point will be discussed in full below.

Because silence does not imply contentment, presuming that 98 percent of clients are satisfied with the new policy is incorrect. Their silence could be due to a variety of factors. It's possible they couldn't tell the difference between butter and margarine. Even if they were aware of the distinction, they probably did not complain, assuming butter would not be available. Additionally, it is impossible to overlook the reality that the majority of people would not object if margarine were substituted for butter. Customers may discontinue patronising a restaurant if margarine is frequently served in place of butter. As a result, individuals accustomed to butter may be hesitant to move to margarine.

The argument does not prove that clients are informed that margarine was substituted for butter notwithstanding their preference for butter. Even if they do not express their dissatisfaction, they may refrain from returning. If visitors are not informed of the change and the restaurant waits to see how they react, they may claim they were duped into eating something other than what they ordered. Bear in mind that thinking "butter" refers to either butter or margarine can result in unintended consequences.

Even if customers don't complain, they can tell butter from margarine. Customers can grumble while ordering butter from another server and say their waiter couldn't tell the difference. It is also possible that the consumer was unaware since they thought the chef recommended the margarine. The argument fails if the preceding is true.

Finally, the author assumes that individuals who did not object to margarine and butter have the same taste. Some customers may stop coming to the restaurant because they dislike margarine, while those who prefer margarine to butter may return. People who prefer butter to margarine may have stopped going to the restaurant, explaining the low complaint rate. If this is true, the claim becomes much weaker.

In conclusion, the current argument is flawed due to a variety of problematic assumptions. So long as all prior assumptions are correct, switching from butter to margarine may not affect Happy restaurant patrons.