Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complained indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change Furthermore many server

The writer argued that some southwestern customers who were given margarine instead of butter did not complain because they could not distinguish between these two or they use the term "butter" for both of these ingredient. The writer also stated that 2 percent of customers have complained is equivalent to 98 out of 100 customers were happy with the change. And because many consented to use margarine instead of butter and could not distinguish between them, the restaurant should extend this change to southeastern and northeastern branches as well. These explanations lack compelling evidence, therefore, the arguments and conclusion are unjustifiable.

First of all, there can be many alternative reasons why the customers who received margarine did not complain. They might have realised it was not the butter they have asked for, but they did not want to make things complicated or they were not very fussy with food, so they remained silent. However, deliberately serving margarine many times and ignoring the customers' request may risk increasing their unsatisfaction and losing customers. The customers may also think these restaurants were unprofessional as they could not distinguish between butter and margarine. Furthermore, they may also enjoyed the taste of margarine and they felt complaining was not necessary.

In addition, interpreting 2 percent as 2 out of 100 people is not necessarily true. The restaurants may only have 50 customers, but 1 of them complained and it is also 2 percent. On the contrary, there might be 200 customers, so 2 percent of 200 would be 4 people. The larger the customer base, the more complaints there are. Thinking 98 out of 100 customers were satisfied may underestimate the situation and also risk losing many customers if the restaurants keep using margarine.

Moreover, the writer assumed that margarine is a more cost-efficient alternative to butter, which might not hold true at all branches. The costs of ingredients might vary across regions, and butter might be much cheaper than margarine in the southeast and northeast. In that case, the latter would no longer be a cost-saving change in these regions and the Happy Pancake House should continue to use butter.

Lastly, even when margarine can replace butter in the southwestern restaurants, it does not necessarily mean that it will also succeed in the southeast and northeast branches as well. People from different regions may have different tastes and preferences, therefore, Happy Pancake House should not use the result from one location to infer about that of the other locations, unless it is certain that residents from these areas have very similar taste. It should also do some trials in the latter regions.

Overall, there can be many explanations for the information the writer gave and we need more sound evidences before making any solid conclusion, such as the exact number of customers tried margarine, the costs of replacing butter by margarine in each region, or surveying those customers who were served margarine to know their thoughts about it.