Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom Do you agree with this statement What is an alternative to traditional face to face teaching

In recent times, technology advancements have made it feasible for many tasks to be performed by artificial intelligence, including education. Even though it is undeniable that there are things machines can do better than human, such as calculating sequences of large numbers, I reckon it is unlikely that human teachers will be completely superseded by them because of some mankind's abilities that machines can hardly mimic. In addition, there are some alternatives to attending classes physically, one of which is online classes.

To begin with, despite the speed and accuracy that artificial intelligence can achieve in providing knowledge, there are essential skills of a teacher that it is not currently capable of doing to a high standard as human can, such as creativity and judgements. The reason why robots or "smart" devices cannot be as innovative as human is because the developments in machine learning have only reached the level where it allows for machines to self-learn and copy actions from other devices, not to create new ones outside what it was "taught" to do. For instance, although scientists have invented some robots that can draw pictures, it is soon obvious that the diversity and combination of the colors are far from being as vibrant and aesthetic as those of man-made, because the robots were just programmed to draw simple strokes with basic colors. Besides, artificial intelligence is also not very efficient in judging situations and making decisions, because these sometimes require sophisticated combinations of emotions and profound knowledge, which may take years to develop. Human teachers in contrast, have been trained professionally to make fair judgements in essential situations, such as assessing whether a student's conduct is morally wrong or not, or whether a student has been diligent and deserves a high participation mark.

Additionally, an option apart from joining classes in person is to register for online classes. There are many popular websites these days where a person can find a relevant course, ranging from Arts to Computer Science, Business, etc from any university across the world and study remotely, such as Edx, Coursera, Udemy. Learners do not have to be a student in that university to register for those classes, and they can still earn a certification if they pass the tests. Sometimes, these courses come with a registration fee for a few hundred dollars, but sometimes they are free and people only have to pay a lower amount for the test if they want a certification. Lecturers will deliver the lectures totally online and most of the time these were pre-recorded and students will do the tasks as required to complete the course. This type of learning is becoming a commonplace, especially during Covid-19 when most schools are closed down due to social distancing requirements.

All in all, while artificial intelligence can outperform mankind in some fields, I strongly believe that it cannot replace a human teacher, especially in the foreseeable future as there are crucial skills that it still cannot master. There are also some replacements for physical classes, such as online courses, where students can study at their own pace and choose any subjects they prefer.