In the last century the first man to walk on the moon said it was a giant leap for mankind However some people think it has made little difference to our daily lives To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are many who believe that the advantages of Moon exploration has brought into their lives is insufficient to justify its expense. While there are valid reasons to ask this question, the overall scientific effect is all-encompassing.

On the one hand, one of the reasons to decry the wasted resources directed towards space program is the lack of clear benefits in the short run. Sending astronomers into the outer space or onto the Moon in particular and investing in expensive telescopes does not immediately and apparently improve a person’s living standard or create an extra income source for an average individual. Many will reckon it is more rational and effective to invest this amount of money into advancing the medical and educational system, or to upgrade the public infrastructure, from which they can see an obvious and more direct impact on their life quality. For example, millions of dollars saved from cutting unnecessary spending in astronomy can be used to increase the number of beds and nurses in hospitals, saving more people’s lives.

On the other hand, the scientific influence of the discovery of the Moon can be positively significant, even though it may take a long time to be clearly seen. Exploring the moon is just the foundation for mankind’s effort in trying to study the universe, which can be crucial for human’s sustainability. Discovering the Moon in particular and the outer space in general can help human predict potential risk threatening lives on Earth, such as a meteorite striking our planet or find out a planet that is analogous to the Earth so that human can move there in case the Earth comes to its end some day. For instance, thanks to the rock and soil brought back since the first time a man landed on the Moon, scientists can determine what are the critical elements for lives to exist on a planet, along with this come different solutions to protect these elements on the Earth to protect human’s lives. This doesn't benefit people at this stage, but one day mankind may have to thank science for that.

All in all, far from being a waste of invaluable resources, space exploration has been one of the driving forces of the continued progress of humanity and hence it should receive more support.