In any field of inquiry the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions

It is sometimes not black and white to determine whether a novice or an expert may come up with more innovations in a field of study. While it may be true that beginners can have more agile and less biased mind to see the whole picture and discover something new, I stand with the view that they will likely lack profound skillsets and essential experience to outperform experts in many areas.

To begin with, it is undeniable that many fields require specific knowledge and experience built up over time to excel at. It can be very hard for neophytes who might just be fresh out of college to seek breakthroughs as chances are there are various issues in reality they have never faced that differ from theories studied at university. For instance, in science, it can take years to drill into the questions and probe relative materials. Einstein had to have a solid grasp of Newtonian physics to develop his space relativity, and it took him about ten years to do that. Another example can be illustrated in musical or art industries, where people have to spend years brushing up their skills to be able to compose professionally or create their own masterpiece. Beginners without adequate experience and skills will hence unlikely to contribute much to their fields.

However, in some cases, a novice might be more open-minded to new ideas, in contrast with an expert being in the field for years and might be biased toward particular topics. For instance, in science, an expert might need to spend years digging on an issue and experimenting while the world is vastly and continuously changing. A beginner with fresher mind may come up with innovative ideas germane to the latest social demands and trends. There are great examples like Mark Zuckerberg, who dropped out of Harvard to focus on inventing an online social platform called Facebook, which is ubiquitous these days but was an undeveloped technology a few years back. Another titan is Bill Gates, who is also a college dropout but was able to establish his own company and develop it to the stage of a giant tech as it is today. Thus, a tyro is not always not contributive.

In conclusion, while an agile mind opening to new notions might help a beginner to achieve remarkable success in his or her field, an expert with competent skill sets and long experience will likely make greater contributions.