Claim While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self satisfaction it should really be a source of embarrassment Reason Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self motivation

Boredom, like any other emotions, is a natural part of our lives and it is likely that everyone gets bored sometimes. While I partly agree that boredom sometimes stems from one's complacency, lack of imagination or self-motivation, there are many other factors why someone may feel their life is dull and one should not feel embarrassed about it.

First of all, it is true that sometimes people may feel complacent with their achievements and stop trying or pushing themselves to overstep new boundaries. It can be a white-collar worker who has finished their nine-to-five job then comes home and just surfs the web for the next few hours. It can also be an athlete who has won the prize a few times, then loses their motivation and hesitates to practice hard. Instead of trying something new like taking on a new sport, reading books, learning new skills, one chooses to be idle and feels bored as a result. This is when boredom roots from idleness and the state of being prosaic.

On the other hand, a person can find his or her life boring if there is limited room for creativity to bloom. One example is when workers assemble electronic components of a phone or computer in a factory. This is a repetitive task that they have to do everyday and follow a strict guideline, which undoubtedly becomes tedious over time but the workers cannot use their creativity to change the process. Another example is when a course is designed to be memory-based, hence the students may find it boring but still have to memorise knowledge to perform well in the exam. In both of these cases, the boring process or course is beyond the workers' and students' control, thus they cannot improve it even when they are creative and self-motivated, and it is clearly not an embarrassment.

Furthermore, a person may fall into a situation that is dreary by its nature. For instance, one may want go on a fishing tour, but the weather is so capricious that there is unexpectedly a downpour. As a consequence, it is much harder to catch a fish and the trip becomes disappointing. Another situation can be when an amusement park does not have many thrilling games, therefore, the visitors may find it boring. There is also nothing to be embarrassed about in these cases.

In addition, boredom is also not a shame but the motivation to create new entertaining activities. Entertainment is born to tackle boredom, hence without dullness, there would be no demand to entertain. For example, computer games are invented for people who do not want to go out but still want to spice up their free time at home. Hiking is for adventurous people who feel bored at home. Going on tours is for people who find staying at one place unexciting and want to experience the world, and many more examples.

In conclusion, boredom can show up at some point in our lives, not as an embarrassment but a stimulus to entertainment. It can originate from idleness, the lack of self-motivation or situations beyond our control; however, we should not let ourselves remain inactive. We should find ways to get out of boredom and spend our time effectively.