In the last century the first man to walk on the moon said it was a giant leap for mankind However some people think it has made little difference to our daily lives To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are many who believe that the advantages space exploration has brought into their lives is insufficient to justify its expense. While there are valid reasons to ask this question, the overall scientific effect is all-encompassing.

On the one hand, one of the reasons to decry the wasted resources directed towards space program is the lack of clear benefits in the short run. Sending astronomers into the outer space or investing in expensive telescopes does not immediately and apparently improve a person’s living standard or create an extra income source for an average individual. Many will reckon it is more rational and effective to invest this amount of money into advancing the medical and educational system, or to upgrade the public infrastructure, from which they can see an obvious and more direct impact on their life quality. For example, millions of dollars saved from cutting unnecessary spending in astronomy can be used to increase the number of beds and nurses in hospitals, saving more people’s lives.

On the other hand, the scientific influence can be positively significant. Even though it cannot be clearly seen but achievements in astronomy consequently lead to some technology advancements, which stimulate the continued progress of humanity and help mankind perform more tasks at ease. One example of this is the innovation of satellites in space, which makes phone calls and internet access ubiquitous on earth. In addition, investments in science often take time to pay off, and so does space discovery. Scientists are making determined attempts to find a planet that is analogous to the Earth, so that human can maintain their lives in case the Earth comes to its end some day. This doesn't benefit people at this stage, but one day mankind may have to thank science for that.

All in all, far from being a waste of invaluable resources, space exploration has been one of the driving forces of technology developments and hence it should receive more support.