Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use What are your views

It is believed that people should change to different means of transportation besides automobiles and there should be more international legislation on possessing and driving cars. While there are various reasons to disagree with this argument, I reckon that this would bring about huge benefits as it will help to protect our environment and make road transport safer for everyone.

On the one hand, there are good reasons to support the reduction of excessive use of cars. One of the most obvious benefit this could bring is making our planet greener. Car emissions are among the major culprits of carbon footprint and global warming, which consequently exarcerbate the severity of natural disasters and causing respiratory issues. Studies have shown that the amount of toxic emission a car discharges in 40 minutes and suffocate a newborn baby and if the number of automobiles over the world declines by 10%, the annual growth in global temperature will be about 2% lower. In addition, restricting the number of cars on the road can help enhance road traffic safety. Fewer automobiles means lower possibility of accidents as drivers will have a better view and more spaces to change the direction of their vehicles and avoid crashes. It is also beneficial if driving laws are reinforced so that only qualified drivers are allowed on the road as according to research, about 70% of car accidents are caused by inexperienced drivers.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why it might not be a good idea to impose restrictions on the use of cars, such as the considerable inconvenience it may bring into people’s lives. Cars are ubiquitous nowadays as it helps people travel at ease and can be used for multiple purposes, from driving to work, picking up children to going on a short road trip on the weekend. They are much more convenient compared to bikes or motobikes thanks to their speed and the roof to cover people from different weather conditions. They are also smaller than buses so they can move easier on the road. If people are forced to giving up on travelling by cars, it can be very hard for them to find an alternative that is as fast and as convenient. It might be better if people are not completely banned from using cars but only encouraged to reduce their car usage as much as they can, such as by using public transport.

In conclusion, while automobiles bring about a much satisfying experience compared to other means, it is advantageous if people are encouraged to not overuse them and drive responsibly.