Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom.

Do you agree with this statement?

What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching?

Some people argue that, in the close future instead of teachers, we will be seeing artificial intelligence teaching in schools. I personally don`t believe that AI can completely take over teachers` task in the classroom and certainly not think that it can happen any time soon. However, we can`t deny that the old school teaching has already been evolving and new teaching methods using technological advances can be implemented into our conventional face-to-face education system.

Despite all the advancement we experience with AI in all aspects of our lives, it is undeniable that it has potential and capacity to take part in the education system and even replace the position of teachers in schools. However, I don`t believe that it has not reached to that point and personally, I don`t believe that it can happen in the foreseeing future. First of all, especially in the education of youngsters, human contact is crucial to make them feel safe and secure in the classroom. Furthermore, the compassion and understanding they seek at those ages cannot be provided by a machine no matter how intelligent it can be, but it can be assured by a teacher.

However, traditional teaching methods can be altered, and new technological developments can be implemented as an alternative to conventional face-to-face teaching. Online computer systems can help teachers updating with all new findings and passing that knowledge to the students. Nowadays every classroom has a computer in the classroom so that any question can immediately be searched and be answered with visual demonstrations. Moreover, it can be used to help students to continue their learnings not only limited in the classroom but wherever or whenever they are by online connection with the selected and pre-controlled resources. For example, most of the schools are encouraging children to use ipads for doing their homework, reaching to their teacher and peers for discussions.

AI is reaching and taking over most of the jobs, but I don`t believe that teaching in the classroom and replacing teachers is one of them. However, I believe that technological advances such as, using computers in the classrooms and not stopping there and advancing it even outside of the classes can and should be integrated with our traditional education system.