The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light emitting diodes LEDs The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out a

The argument that switching all the lights

in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs) would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future is not entirely logically convincing since it ignore certain logical assumption.

The argument assumes​ that LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase but it does nothing to explain which one consumes more energy or which of the bulbs last longer. If the LED bulb consumes more energy that shows a flaw in the argument.

Secondly, the argument never address if the bulb will fit into old switch or they will be provided with new features. It the bulb does not fit into the old features that means there will be additional cost on the LED bulb and that will consequencly oppose the argument.

Thirdly, the argument does not state any other setback or undisclosed consequence of the new bulb. There is no additional setback on the LED, we were not told about the maintenance of the bulb if it needs regular maintenance will result into flaw in the argument.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound, the evidence in support of the conclusion that switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs) would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future does little to prove the conclusion since it does not address the assumption raised. The argument might have been strengthened if the author has addressed that the new bulb consumes less energy, that the bulb will fit into the existing features and states that there is no undisclosed setback.