The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

The argument that switching all the lights

in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs) would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future is not entirely logically convincing since it ignore certain logical assumption.

The argument assumes​ that LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase but it does nothing to explain which one consumes more energy or which of the bulbs last longer.

Secondly, the argument never address if the bulb will fit into old switch or they will be provided with new features.

Thirdly, the argument does not state any other setback or undisclosed consequence of the new bulb.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound, the evidence in support of the conclusion that switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs) would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future does little to prove the conclusion since it does not address the assumption raised. The argument might have been strengthened if the author has addressed that the new bulb consumes less energy, that the bulb will fit into the existing features and states that there is no undisclosed setback.