The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that Balmer will achieve annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced limits on moped rentals is not entirely logically convincing since it ignore certain crucial assumption.

Firstly, the argument assumes that enforcing same limit enforced on moped rental will by neighbouring island will produce same result but does nothing to state the population of seaville.

Secondly, The argument states that moped is the popular means of transportation in Balmer but does not state if it is also the popular means of transportation in seaville.

Thirdly, argument does not state if Balmer and seaville has same road condition.

Thus, the argument that Balmer will achieve annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced limits on moped rentals is not completely sound since it does little to prove the conclusion, since it does not address the assumption raised. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if the author has shown that the population of seaville is approximately equal to the population of Balmer. That moped is also the popular means of transportation in seaville. That Balmer and seaville has same road condition.