The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Lastly, it assumes that monarch books will better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café but does not reveal if they are in same business with Regal books.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound

The argument that opening a café in monarch book would attract more customers is not entirely logically convincing since it ignore to address some certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that since it has been in business for more than 20 years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects will make it attracts more customers if cafe is open in the store yet it fails to address the type of people patronising the store if they are the type that likes reading on internet.

Secondly, the argument states that Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section but does not address if the children section is conducive for cafe.

Thirdly, the argument assumes that national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten but does not address the approach in which the census carried out their investigation.

Thus the argument is not completely sound, the argument would have been strengthened if the argument has addressed that the space of children book section is conducive, and if they are in competition with Regal book.