Clay pots of a particular specific design have earlier been found in the surrounding area of prehistoric village of Karia and so were supposed to have been made exclusively by the people from Karia. However, of late, archeologists discovered a 'Karian' clay pot in Toga, an ancient village across Mist River from Karia. The Mist River is very deep and wide and so the ancient Karians could have crossed it only by boat, and no Karian boats have been found. Hence it is obvious that the so-called Karian clay pots were not uniquely Karian.

At first glance the author's argument appears to be convincing but upon further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions. And some of the assumptions needs to be justified in order to consider the argument to be valid.

The argument talks about surrounding area of Karia village but does clearly not talk about in terms of statistical terms of how much square meter or square kilometer area is considered as the surrounding area. It may be the case that the surrounding area considered spans far away from the actual boundaries of Karin village. Also, the argument of the clay pots were made exclusively by Karian villagers is flawed as it is nowhere mentioned that these pots are found prominently inside the Karian village. Just finding them in the surroundings of Karia doesn't mean that they were made in Karia. Also, the number of such pots found can create a large impact on the validity of the argument. If mere 2 or 3 pots have been found then the argument cannot be considered as a valid one.

Further the author talks about the occurrence of similar pots in the vicinity of a nearby village Toga. While Toga and Karian villages are separated by a deep and wide river the argument of the river could only be crossed by boats is flawed. There might be other possibilities such that the river was swum across by the swimmers or their might have existed a bridge connecting the two villages that got disintegrated over the years. Also the fact that no boats were found doesn't strengthen author's argument in any way. The scope and depth for search of boats can be questioned.

The mere fact that these pots didn't belong to either of the villages makes the author's argument even weaker. It might be the case that the pots were introduced to these villages during the business that occurred between the cities and villages in the ancient times.

In conclusion, more of statistical data must be produced in order to validate the authors argument of Karian pots not being uniquely Karian