Clay pots of a particular specific design have earlier been found in the surrounding area of the prehistoric village of Karia and so were supposed to have been made exclusively by the people from Karia. However, of late, archaeologists discovered a ‘Karian’ clay pot in Toga, an ancient village across the Mist River from Karia. The Mist River is very deep and wide, and so the ancient Karians could have crossed it only by boat, and no Karian boats have been found. Hence it is obvious that the so-called Karian clay pots were not uniquely Karian.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the author is full of assumptions without any evidence. Hence this argument is rife with holes making it a faulty argument.

A single karian pot which was found in toga village does not signifies that the karian clay pots were not uniquely karian. Their is a possibility that maybe some karian residents who knew the art of making karian pots relocated to toga village due to some reason. And continued their unique legacy of making karian pots in toga village. It is also a possibility that merchants from karia village went to toga village to sell their unique karian pots to get more value for their pots. So a specific evidence is needed to assume that Karian pots were not uniquely Karian.

Their is no evidence that crossing the mist river was the only way for karian and togan people to commute. There may be another route through land or a river wich is less deep and less wide, and was used by the residents of the karia and toga village. Moreover it could also be possible that the karian were ahead of their time and built a bridge over such deep and wide river. The assumptions that no karian boats were found so their must be no boats is a faulty one as well and requires more evidence. As it maybe possible that they used boats in their time but due floods in the later prehistoric age destoyed those boats without leaving a trace of them.A specific evidence should be provided by the author to clarify these assumption.

As discussed above many important evidences are required in this argument to make a complete sense. As of now without those evidences to the assumptions made in the argument it is a faulty argument.