Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends

Students are influenced by their teacher, they have a teacher as their idol for sure, no doubt about it. But Friends are the one who are more influencing for a students. And I disagree with the statement that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. This influence on a student is basically due to a phsycological factor. When we look at one our friend who is doing really great in something, we have a urge to do far more better than him. You can say this jealousy or you can say it competative nature. You can say it anything but, it is the sole driving force for us to do better in some work than we usually do. Which eventually influences us to work with the same intensity to achieve even greater success.

This is not only the one way in which in a friend can influence us in our life. Another way is when we admire a friend, when we look up to him and try to be like him. Like, I was a very shy person. I didnt like to converse with other people untill it was very necessary and urgent, basically I used to avoid people. But my friend is an extrovert, he used talks to everyone, everyone used to talks to him. Everyone came to him with their problems and he also used to help them. He was and is just cool in that sense and I liked this nature of him from the very beginning. And I tried to be like him, he influenced me in such a way that now I am the one who always initiates a conversation with other. A boy who once used to run from a simple conversation, now starts his own conversations with other and not only that, he also connects with person on a very different and better level. This is also another example of how friends can influence us.

So yes, teachers can and do influence students but not very often. Its the friends who influence a student with much more efficiency and much more intensity. So i disagree with the statement that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.