The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider

ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Communication is the essence of human being's life. And among different forms of communications speaking is most important. It is the only difference which makes us different from the animals.

Speech is the gift given to us by the god. But when we think of speech we get the thoughts of arguments which we all have every once in a while. Arguments can be good arguments or bad arguments.

Arguments has the capibility of changing one's mind, but it is not the case everytime an argument takes place. So we can say that the best test of argument is the arguments's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoints.

Yes argument does have the ability to change someones mind, when the argument makes a sense to the person with a opposing view. The scientific thoeries are challanged and arugued upon since so many decades. But the result of every argument is always astonishing and gives rise to so many new possibilites. The atmoic thoery was argued and changed so many times, resulting so many new results, which helped science and humankind evolve on an very different level. The argument makes no sense to the person who is luddite and precluding something. When the person is belligerent about the beliefs or topics which he's arguing, their would be no sense arguing to him because no matter what we say, how right we are it wont be convincing him, because of his belligerent nature on that ideas, topics or beliefs.

Hence argument is important but its effectiveness depends form person to person, case to case. And due to this reason we can say that the only factor which decides an arguments effectiveness is the arguments ability to convince someone with an opposing views.