The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument the author is analysing and trying to solve the problem of reduced number of advertisers. And he has reached to a conclusion which full of loopholes which need specific evidences to be answered to make a complete sense and be a reasonable conclusion

What were the concerns expressed by the viewers? These concerns may be supporting the stations decision of reducing the time to weather and local news. Or they may be in opposition of the stations decision. Author needs to give exact evidences of what these concerns were.

Which method was used to gather and process these complains, which where recieved by the Television station? Their is no mention about the method and number of complains received by the station. It could have been a single viewer who was complaining, about the less time to weather and local news, again and again. Or their may be many viewers which were complaining, author needs to give evidences to show the severity of these complains.

And again their may be many other reason for the annulment of the advertising contracts. May be the advertisers want to advertise their products or services on other stations due to their popularity over this station. Or this television station may have been charging way more advertising charges than other stations in the vicinity. or the advertisers is having no need to advertise anymore as they may be having explosion of customers seeking their products or services due to the popularity of national news on the staion .So to address this problem the author should provide some in depth evidences.

So to give a conclusion on reduced number of advertisers on the televison station, the author need to answer the above given assumption to make a complete sense and to give a reasonable conclusion.