"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

In the editorial of local newspaper, it is stated that the opponents of the motorist's lobby plan to add another lane of Blue Highway have advocated that a bicycle lane be constructed to alleviate the highway’s traffic issues. The opponent has come to this conclusion based on the issues faced by Green Highway last year as well as the keen interest in bicycling of the areas local residents. Before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, however, these three question must be answered.

First of all, are Green Highway and Blue Highway roughly comparable? In other words, can circumstances from one highway be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that the Green Highway and Blue Highway are not similar at all- perhaps Green Highway runs through residential neighborhoods, where the Blue Highway is located mostly in rural, unpopulated section of the city. Further, there is a possibility the quality of the highway is markedly different, with Green Highway’s road falling apart and Blue Highway in pristine condition. If either of these scenarios has merit, then condition drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do a majority of a majority of the area resident in biking live within biking distance of their place of employment? The opponents in the arguments prematurely assumes that many of the residents in the will bike to work in the morning rather than drives their cars. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the average distance from home to work is over 15 miles, and that’s why many of the residents are essentially obligated to take the highway – even if they don’t want to. In an ideal world, they might choose to bike to work, but in reality is such that they cannot do so due to the logistics of their situations, then only one form of transportation (the car via the highway) is possible. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold true.

Finally, are the last year’s issues of exacerbated traffic condition faced by the Green Highway still existing? The opponent unwarrantedly assumes that the last year’s issues of worsened traffic faced by the Green Highway due to constructing motorist lobby to widening the highway still exist in the way they were in the previous year. However, this might not be the case. There may be the possibility that the previous year issues has been solved and the traffic issues of the previous year no long exist in Green Highway. Further, there is a possibility that stringent traffic laws to control jam in Green Highway might have been implemented this year which has ameliorated the traffic problems. If the scenarios above is true, then the argument made is by opponent is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to add a bike take to Blue Highway.