Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

The author gives two different viewpoints regarding the needs of government funding for arts. Some people believe that government funding of arts could threaten the integrity of arts since while depending on funding by the government various interference could result. This could be true somehow but funding from government is much necessary to ensure arts be available to all kinds of people, preserved and flourish.

Arts add value to mundane life of human, and it keeps similar significance in today’s world which is dominated by science and economies. However, field of arts require thriving in today’s context. Due to various reasons people are losing interest in arts and few who remained have to struggle. Hence, attention to this field is required. Constant funding is inevitable factor so that one could learn, explore, pursue and follow the sector of arts, which should be available to all kinds of people. For example, funding is necessary in schools of arts, and support students who want to pursue their field and support them. People who make their living from arts should be ensured to make for sufficient living. It should also be with the reach of general public who wish to explore them. Hence, funding becomes necessary to keep the field thriving and to help art flourish.

It is also believed that while depending on government for funding of the arts, it may threaten the integrity of arts. While government does the funding there could be interference that go against the integrity of arts. For example, government officials may do politics and could have certain preferences that could favor certain art school or agencies that align with their self- interests. In such case impartiality may arise and thus integrity is hindered. So from this viewpoint, arts sector should be make pollution free from any kind of impartiality and politics. However, these circumstance may not always arise. Funding from persons or other private companies could be beneficial but even when private may provide funding, similar situation may arise. Moreover, private funding cannot be ensured every time. The art school or agency must itself be committed to maintain its integrity.

Funding is always essential for any industry and especially for an art industry because there is less funding in arts sector at present context. Funding is more concentrated in “STEM”. Ensuring proper funding and support focusing to keep the arts flourishing and also maintaining its integrity is necessary. On the other hand, to keep the art industry undiluted funding agencies need to be keep in check so that they work without impartiality. Art agencies should itself be committed to be free of politics. Funding may not be always enough so alternative support should be discovered to keep the sector vivacious and flourishing. Hence, maintaining the integrity of arts, I agree that the government should ensure reasonable funding of arts.