Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Government funding of the arts is essential for the arts to thrive and be available to all people. However, it is important that the government should not patronage individual artists for fear of the government’s interference with the composing process of artists and the content of their works.

First, the government should provide funding to art museums and exhibition centers so that art museums and exhibition centers can be free for people to visit. Without government funding, the art museums and exhibition centers might charge visitors a high entrance fee, which might prevent poor people and young students from visiting these museums and exhibitions. However, all people should be granted the opportunity to appreciate the masterpieces of great artists like Da Vinci. Thus, the government should provide funds to the art museums and exhibition centers and guarantee that the arts will be available to all people.

However, the government should not provide funding to artists themselves because some artists may want to deliberately meet the taste of the government to secure government funding and the government might interfere with the composing process of artists or the content of their works, which will threaten the integrity of arts. For example, the former Soviet Union government provided funding to Russian artists and coerced them to produce works that deliberately praise the government. To avoid such problems, the government should provide funding only to museums and exhibition centers and should not patronize individual artists.

Admittedly, some artists need patronage to make ends meet or otherwise they might have to take a common job just to make a living. Young artists may not be famous enough to make ends meet just by selling their works, and thus the artists need the patronage so that they could focus their attention on their composition. Yet, it is the individual sponsor, not the government, that should be responsible for providing patronage to these young artists. For example, during the Renaissance period, the Medici family patronized many artists like Da Vinci, Michelangelo, and Raphael, when these artists were young and not famous. If it had not been for the funding from Medici Family, the arts during the Renaissance period would have not been able to thrive. Therefore, the individual artist who might be in need of patronage in order to make ends meet should ask individual sponsors not the government for help.

To sum up, the government should provide funding to art museums and exhibition centers so that art museums and exhibition centers can be free for people to visit, which is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. However, it is important that the government should not patronage individual artists to avoid the problem of the government’s interference with the composing process of the artists and the content of their works. And the individual artist who might be in need of patronage in order to make ends meet should ask individual sponsors not the government for help.