Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours from Monday to Friday. although the policy is new, the company claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each weel

The author claims here that the policy to shut down offices on Friday and work for 8 hours per day from Monday to Thursday will help in increasing profits and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week. Reveals several reasons for poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this conclusion the author reasons that it will boost employee morale by reducing commuting time and also increase profits. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the authors' conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that commuting time is significant for most of the employees and that those employees would be happy to work 4 days and in order to avoid 1 day commute time. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For example, let's assume that most of the company employee prefer to stay nearby to the office usually no one travel long distance. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it would be evaluated and provide a proportion. Furthermore, the argument fails to address how the 10 hours workday might alter the schedule lives of an employee outside the work. For example, they have other schedules such as picking up children / or spending time with family, then this plan is not convincing for them.

The argument points out that working for days for 10 hours will increase company profits. This again is a weak and unsupported claim and it doesn't provides any relation between profit and working for 10 hours a day and rest for one day, indeed it will actually reduce the profit author assumes that increase in cost increase in profit. To illustrate, what about customers who want to contact sales person on Friday? By extending the hours for salespeople while cutting off one workday could actually result in decreased revenues. If the argument provided evidence that an increase in hours will increase revenues which increases the profit that it would have been a lot more convincing for reader.

This brings us to the final assumption that there are no negative consequences relative to shutting down completely on Friday. However careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author concludes in several critical respect and rises several skeptical questions. For example not responding to the customer on Friday will this make them satisfied? Will workers have the potential to work for 10 hours a day? indeed it will make them tired and decrease the speed of working. From this how the profits are increased? .Without convincing answers to these questions the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

Company X has developed an interesting idea that may be worth further exploration, but committing to such a plan immodestly would be rash. There are a number of variables that needed to be examined before concluding that the plan is likely to achieve the stated goals without resulting in untended consequences. Further, the company must carefully examine the responsibility of financial consequences associated with spreading 40 hours of work over 4 days rather than 5 days.