The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument states that even though the students of Marlee district do homework 2 or three days a week, they attain better grades and have higher chances of getting promoted to the next class. However, the author fails to present a cogent argument, as his conclusions are riddled with unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author doesn’t clearly mention the details of the survey. The duration for which the study was conducted, number of schools that participated, number of teachers questioned and the numerical analysis of data acquired aren’t mentioned. The argument says that ‘many’ teachers in Sanlee and ‘most’ teachers in Marlee, the author hasn’t provided any information which confirms that only the teachers which satisfy the given criterion were questioned. Also, the survey doesn’t take into account the opinions of teachers that teach subjects other than science and mathematics.

Additionally, the total number of students in the district isn’t mentioned. It doesn’t clarify that the assessments, grading system and criterion for repeating a class is similar or different in schools of the two districts. The author would arrive at a faulty conclusion if the assessment modes and criterion for passing is different in Sanlee and Marlee. The text doesn’t give us an insight about the question paper pattern and types of questions that are asked in the examination. It may be the case that the schools in Sanlee set a practical and HOTs based examination whereas schools in Marlee give simple theoretical questions or those similar to their homework.

Moreover, it doesn’t ponder over the scenario that the students in Marlee could be attending personal or tuition classes after school hours. Marlee could be a district where the population is more educated and hence the student’s parent can help their children to learn and apply various concepts. Sanlee, could be a district where students might be more interested in co-curricular activities, internships or part time jobs which might be the reason for lower overall grades and passing percentage. Therefore, by giving daily assignments and homework the teachers can ensure daily practice of their ward, increase their concentration time. The homework might not necessarily be related to the subject, it might simply aim to increase overall knowledge students and guide them towards a practical to everyday problems.

To sum, assigning homework only twice a week can’t be an ideal solution in every situation. The need of giving homework can vary according to the circumstances. Hence, the argument provided by the author can be considered insubstantial to prove this claim.