When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

It is of utmost importance for children to have an all-round development early in their lives. This will not only help them to gain knowlegde and enjoy but will also help them to choose a suitable career path for themselves. Schools hence play an important part in shaping a child's life and career. While it is important to stay fit, children play enough outdoor games during evening hours to keep them energetic. They would seldom learn new skills like painting, singing or playing an instrument untill and unless compelled by their parents to do so. Thus, it is more feasible to cut physical education classes first rather than art and music classes.

To start with, cutting physical education classes would save more money that cutting art and music classes. For art and music classes, the students can easily be asked to bring their own canvas, paints, brushes and musical instruments. On the other hand, maintenance of cricket and football grounds, badminton, basketball and tennis courts has to be done by the school administration itself. They can't ask school children to trim overgrown grass, level the uneven grounds or sweep and clean the courts. Cutting physical education class will save enormous maintenance costs.

Moreover, the students have to leave their classes and reach the grounds for various sports activities. However, most of the children roam around the campus, be it in academic buildings, gardens or the canteen. They even take up more than half of the time of the next class to report to their teachers. For instance, in my school, it took 5 minutes to reach from our class to the sports arena. We deliberately took almost 15 minutes to reach there and requested our sports teacher to allow us to play for those missed 15 minutes. Even after being late, we used to roam around the campus before reaching our class.

Additionally, art and music is one of the important skill sets that might come in handy during functions and celebrations. Children can even go on to pursue this hobby as a profession being highly paid artists and musicians. They can still play sports in their spare time at evenings. To illustrate this, I would like to mention about one of my friends. He loves painting and even used to sit in the art room during sports or free periods. Currently, he is a well known artist in my city, with his paintings being regularly featured in art exhibitions.

All in all, to curb the problem of funding or lack of teachers, physical education classes must be eliminated first. It would also give time to students to learn about their core subjects and do well in exams.