The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

All of us dream to have a luxurious villa, behemoth cars, swimming pools to enjoy as well as brag about our life. While some people chose to relish sybarite living and live comfortably depending on other household helps, drivers and assistants, others chose to use this privilege and work towards their as well as the nation’s development.

To start with, people might get swayed by their parent’s money, assets and lifestyle. After revelling in hedonist lifestyle, they chose to live their life under the aegis of their parents or guardian and the people that help them live luxuriously like the house-helps, drivers, personal assistants, gardeners etc. They just delegate work and relax while their assistants fulfil their duties and task. Be it scheduling for appointments, maintaining the house, cars, or even talking on behalf of them. Such behaviour prohibits the individuals to grow, develop and learn new things as they don’t get the required exposure. For instance, a person who lives off their parent’s success, income and money: he might pull out of school/college and inculcate a habit of squandering money. It is the responsibility of the parents as well as teachers to guide these children and even put restrictions on their hedonist attitude.

On the other hand, the present generation enjoys unprecedented conveniences. Due to rapid development, research as well as industrialization, there is a massive shift towards development of technology, new inventions, solutions to some convoluted problems as well as proliferation of amenities to all parts of the world and to each individual. The hi-tech machines, fast production as well as transportation has enabled us to reach this feat. For instance, children of Ambani have the conveniences and they are working hard to develop as well as support struggling businesses to recuperate.

Moreover, while some hedonists might become dependent, stop learning and growing, others might get galvanized to change the world for better and help those in need. For instance, various film actors, cricketers like Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan and Sehwag have opened new schools, cancer centres, hospitals etc. A responsible citizen must help his/her fellow citizens or those in dire need. It will not only help those in need but will certainly make these people strong and responsible.

In sum, having conveniences is not a privilege, but its utilization is. It is the thinking of the individual that stops him/her from growing strong and independent. Parents have a huge role to look after their children’s behaviour, development, nature and bring them to the right path if they deflect. While some people might feel stagnancy, a person will certainly grow if he/she uses his luxuries in the proper place and direction.