Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Money is probably one of the major factors which motivates people to get up everyday and reach their jobs on time. While there are other factors such as passion and sincerety, we can't neglect the role of money in any individual's life. Primarily, money is needed for buying the basic needs such as food, shelter, clothes and even palatable water and hence one can't live without decent daily wages. But some people just try to earn money by wandering in the streets and begging. In my opinion, begging hinders the beggar's personal growth as well as acts as an easy means to take away other individuals' hard earned money, and therefore, giving money to beggars should be avoided.

To start with, providing money to beggars will encourage them further to just sit at a place and earn money. There are various instances which illustrate that the people begging for money are not poor or in dire need of money. There was a case of a woman living in a metropolitan city in India who used to beg at a temple. Due to suspicion, when the police followed her home and raided it, they found bundles of notes in her bed's mattress and cupboards. These beggars not only take other's hard earned money but also live a life full of luxuries and comfort.

Moreover, galvanizing the culture of earning money by begging promotes child trafficking. Children are being kidnapped and are forced to beg on streets and near multiplex complexes. This practice continues as people are more succeptible to give money to hungry children than adults. There has been an incident where a child got kidnapped and could not be traced by the police. One day, while coming out of a store from the mall, the mother saw her child in arms of a dirty looking man begging for money. When she asked the man about the child, he just started shouting at her. After great effort by the police, the beggar finally agreed of kidnapping the child.

Additionally, as begging at different areas at different times of the day yeilds enough money, the beggars don't try to learn something new or polish their existing skills so as to use those to earn money truthfully. Beggars don't even try for a position at various new jobs created by new companies and start-ups. They see begging as an easy way out for their daily bread and butter. For instance, when a beggar was interviewed by a TV reporter, he merrily said that why should he use his BTech degree and work hard to earn Rs. 20000 per month when he easily makes Rs. 15000 per month just by begging.

All in all, the practice of begging should be strictly prohibitted due to the aforementioned reasons and instead rigorous training to gain and polish new skills must be encouraged.