The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument, the business manager of a television station talks about restoring the time devoted for weather and local news. He makes this remark due to various complaints from viewers regarding the telecast of wheather and local news as well as the revoking of contracts by the advertisers for the late night programs. However, the manager fails to present a cogent argument as his claims are riddled with unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the manager didn't provide any information on the reasons due to which they increased time for national news and decreased coverage for the late night weather and local news. It could have been done due to the viewers' demands and surveys.

Moreover, he hasn't mentioned the number of complaints, the age group and demographics of the complainants as well as their nature of complaint. It might be the case that only people from a certain age group and/or a certain locailty made the majority of complaints. The nature of complaints has also not been revealed. There could be a plethora of reasons for this: viewers might want the weather and local news to be aired at different timings, to point out some errors and inaccuracies in the reported news or some topics that they feel must be covered during its telecast.

Additionally, the reason for abjurgation of the contracts by the advertisers hasn't been mentioned explicitly. The advertisers could have cancelled the contract as they would have faired better deals at other channels. It could be due to any changes in the television station's policies regarding advertisements, the time given to them in between programs' telecast or substantial increase in cost to maintain their contracts.

At the end, the manager talks about restoring the time devoted to weather and local news in general. He does not specifically talk about increasing it's duration at late night news programs. To sum, the manager has made many bold assumptions in reaching his conclusion to change the duration for weather and local news. Until and unless all other possibilities are probed and the predominant reason for complaints by viewers and cancellation of contracts by advertisers is found, the managers conclusion seems to be insubstantial.