Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Leadership and working of the political party in power in any country determines the country's present as well as near future. It is of utmost importance that a political party capable of improving all of its citizens lifestyle procures majority and assumes power. Citizens play the key role in electing a government and hence it is imperative that they need to be well informed. In my opinion, children below the age of 15 years should not be allowed to vote.

To start with, children below the age of 15 years are still in schools, learning about various subjects including history, geography, civics and political science. They don't have the complete knowledge and idea about the system of governments: democracy, communism and monarchy to name a few. I would like to support this with an incident that occured when I was in school. When my fellow classmate was asked about the type of government in North Korea, he confidently answered it to be a democratic country. Our teacher then took an extra class to teach us about various types of governments and their examples.

Moreover, children don't have the exposure to the government's working and in which areas does their nation want immeditate attention like poverty, agriculture, cross border relations etc. The children won't be able to understand the election manifestos of various parties and that the leadership skills of the party head plays a major role in the working of the political party in power. To illustrate, let's consider a nation that is having severe border disputes with other countries. Children might give their vote to a party supporting educational reforms rather than the one that wishes to ameliorate cross border situations strategically and thus prevent war.

Additionally, children below 15 years tend to get influenced by their parents, teachers and friends. They don't have any concrete opinions of their own and are susceptible to bribes, toys and electronic gadgets. A stellar example would be of my friend whose parents were a part of a political party. Even though he was galvanized by the working and manifestations of another party, he was forced to give his vote to the party his parents were a part of.

All in all, I disagree with the plan that children below 15 years of age should be allowed to vote. They should first have proper knowledge and opinions, which comes with age and experience, before they are allowed to vote.