Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The author of the passage talks about paleo diets and its increasing popularity. According to the passage, the followers of diet maintain that these types of food, like bone broth, are health promoting, heal joints and bolster nerve regeneration. The author fails to present a cogent argument as his claims are riddled with unwarranted assumptions.

First and foremost, the author does not apprise about the proponents, their demographics, number of paleo diet practitioners or their geographical location. He doesn't even mention the time frame or the causal theories that resulted in atavism of diets of early humanoids in present ages. This missing information is very important to test the probity and extent of the author's claim.

Additionally, he has not given any information about the animals from whose bones the humanoids prepared the broth. It might be the case that those species are vulnerable, extant only in certain parts of the world or even be extinct. The passage lacks information about whether the nutrients that are present in the bone broth, like cartilage and chondroitin, can be taken by other sources of food like vegetables or fruits. It does not inform about the other food items, life style and physical excersizes that the hominids indulged in. It is likely that they would be eating other items and savories which would provide them with these nutrients and benefits.

Moreover, the author fails to take into consideration the changing life styles of people from the early to present ages. The world is progressing fast and becoming increasing corporate these days. Most people work in a stressful atmosphere for long hours in offices and cubicles. It depraves them of calmness, peace, physical excersize and yoga. Fast food is the new trend these days as it is available readily. People are facing health issues as fast food is essentially devoid of nutrients and is not too salubrious. Increasing pollution is also one the major reasons for some chronic diseases like asthama.

All in all, the author makes presumptious assumptions and the passage also lacks vital information for the author to make a compulsive agrument.