The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week

Grades play a vital role in acquiring an excellent college. These grades can be achieved by sheer hard work as well as smart work and by sincerely following the academic pattern. By just sitting idle and wishing to get good grades won’t help. A student must be in good state of mind, must have the average brain power and can be able to tackle the given situation with less effort to excel in the academics.

The author has surveyed just two districts and concludes to a point on the basics of them. The overall grades not only depends on basic academic knowledge but also depends on other factors like students thinking power and brain power, working environment, family support, teaching faculty etc. For example, if the student is sent to a school where the faculty member themselves does not have much knowledge then there is no point in having the great brain power and family support. Thus, the overall grade depends on all these factors altogether. Even if one of the factors is missing, it might hamper the grades.

Secondly, the author has considered only two subjects of math and science. But in a school, the grades are dependent on other subjects too. For example, if the student has a great practice of math and science and is weak in social studies or any language like English, then also the overall grade will be below average and he/she might need to repeat the year. And again, it is not just how much homework is given but also how the students do it and whether he/she does it sincerely without cheating in the process. Also if the student is a slow learner then he/she might need more work to be done in comparison to others. Thus, the amount of homework should vary according to the individual student.

The conclusion of teachers assigning homework no more than twice a week is based on just two districts. This is not enough to come to a conclusion which matters so much in a student’s life. Moreover, a number of students in both the district may vary and their overall of environment might also vary. Also, the Marlee district might be well developed in comparison to the Sanlee district. Thus, the statistics taken into consideration by the author are not at all sufficient to conclude on how much homework should be given to the students.

As a whole, the teachers of any school should themselves be experienced enough to understand how much homework should be given to the students depending about the student’s capacity, their grasping power and mainly the difficulty level of the subject. If this is followed by all the subjects then the overall grades of the student will definitely increase and there wouldn’t be any issues what so ever.