Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

The upshot of the given issue has multiple viewpoints and create a controversial situation. The issue provides different views of diff people and we can't generalize it to a base conclusion. I think it's an agree to disagree issue and both the sides has its own pros and cons. In my opinion, the officials should take their own decisions which are good for the people and satisfy them completely.

Firstly, the government officials have experience and training which makes them capable of taking their own decisions. This is because the officials are chosen and made government officials by long training and scrutiny process. They are put in different situations and asked to carry out their own decisions in these situations. This makes them capable to take decisions in all possible situations and qualifies them to be named as excellent officials. Moreover, the officials are also taught about sentiment analysis and how to get to a point where a majority of the people would like the way he/she has interpreted the situation. And hence, the officials are capable enough of taking their own decisions for people's good.

Secondly, if the officials are asked to serve the people according to their will then it might create some problems. People have different thinking and might not agree upon a single conclusion. Moreover, people are not trained to understand the circumstances and surroundings to take the optimal decisions as that of the officials. It might happen that major conflict of ideas on a certain topic may create another issue that officials might have to deal with. For example, while deciding whether to build a musjid or a Hindu temple on a place owned by the government will create a great dispute. In this case, the officials would be the ideal person to decide what is to be done.

Undeniably, the official's decision might also go wrong and might not satisfy the people's will. This is true but not in all the cases. It might happen in a case where the official is a rookie and might end up with bad decisions. but this situation could be properly handled by appointing some other experienced official. Moreover, it is also true that the officials have opted to work for the people and by the people. However, as stated above, officials are trained to overcome this. And hence, officials decisions are taken completely taking all the cases into consideration and getting to a point where everyone is satisfied.

Thus, by believing in the official's judgment is what the people can to as these officials are voted to their positions by the people themselves. The officials know their responsibilities and would surely work for people's good. In the end, it is all about trust that the people show in the officials and that is what going to provide a solution to the given issue.