Governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The upshot of whether to restrict the scientific research and development or not has multiple viewpoints and create a controversial situation. Unquestionably, the points of reduction of overall scope for research and development, if restricted much attention will be given to selected domains and we'll surely achieve success hold a place but can't be claimed to be true in all the case. Nevertheless, restrictions will hamper the development, also inter-related domains will face problems and restricted part will remain undeveloped, these points will always be true. Thus, I would disagree with imposing restrictions on R&D and would argue that governments should not place any restrictions on scientific research and development.

Firstly, imposing restrictions will hamper the development of the nation Moreover, R&D team won't be able to perform any research in the restricted field which is eventually going to hamper the development. And also, the restrictions will cause loss of opportunities. For instance, if the field of Cloud Computing is restricted then the nation won't be able to achieve a significant amount of storage place and the over-the-go facilities would not be implemented as compared to other nations that use Cloud Computing technology.

Secondly, lots of domains take help from other domain's information and work relatively. So, restriction on domain or area of the domain will hamper other related domains improvement. For instance, if research in the area of machines is restricted then the domains where machines are required to a greater extent will lag in comparison to other nations. Thus, restrictions will overall greatly hamper the complete R&D process.

Undeniably, the restriction will reduce the scope for research and development and will increase the chances of achieving success in the selected part. But, this is true in certain cases only. This as a whole will neglect, destroy the chances of being in worlds top nations. Moreover, our nation will remain undeveloped in certain areas. Thus it cannot be generalized and hence should not impose restrictions.

Thus, restrictions on the R&D is surely going to hamper the development of the nation as the nation won't be able to ace in all the fields. However, if there aren't any restrictions then we can surely work on all the parts and aspects to find and create something out of it. So, I believe restrictions on research and development is similar to asl a teen boy not to be crazy about cars and thus, should not be followed!