There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

The author concludes that relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives. Stated this way, the argument fails to consider several key facts, shreds of evidence, circumstances, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. Moreover, the author provides the instances with poor reasoning and inappropriate assumptions. After prim analysis of the author's argument, it can be seen that the shreds of evidence provided by the author do not support the argument to a greater extent. Thus the argument can be considered as incomplete.

Firstly, better health and greater longevity cannot be completely depended on the pace of the life. It has different aspects and circumstances that might reduce the better health and greater longevity of a person. For example, considering the point of better health. In cities, there are lots of vehicles which run on the roads. These vehicles emit harmful gases and pollute the surrounding. This can be considered as one of the reasons for an unhealthy atmosphere in cities. Comparatively, there are less number of vehicles a town and the overall impact on the health decreases eventually increasing the lifespan of the people. Thus, in the author's argument of better health and greater longevity in town in comparison to cities, he has not considered all the facts and reasons for the same and can be considered as a false conclusion.

Secondly, the author states that average age in the town is greater than that in the city. Now here, the concept behind the average age says that if the number of observations is less then eventually the math will result in a higher number. Further to support the point, as author states, there are only 1000 people living in the town. And in the city, there would surely be a number of residents in comparison. Thus, the average age of the residents of city decreases. And so, it is clear that author has not considered the fact that the number of people in the town and those in the city vary to a greater extent and the average cannot be compared.

Thirdly, the town has less number of educated people. This can counter the author's point of having only one physician in the town whereas the city has five times more number of physicians. In this part of the argument, the author overlooks the fact that people in the city are more focused and try to get well-educated. Moreover, in the city areas, there are more opportunities and better education provided as compared to than in the town.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unconvincing as it stands, Moreover, the author can go through a much more detailed analysis of his argument to provide more concrete and convincing shreds of evidence. Finally, to better assess the survey undertaken by the author, he/she maybe go into depth of the topic and understand how or why there are better health and greater longevity in the relaxed pace of life in small towns than that in the hectic pace of life in big cities.