The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

The author claims that the region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years. Stated this way, the argument fails to consider several key facts, shreds of evidence, circumstances, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. Moreover, the author provides the instances with poor reasoning and inappropriate assumptions. After prim analysis of author's argument, it can be seen that the author provides shreds of evidence that do not support the argument to a greater extent. Hence the argument can be considered as incomplete and improper.

Firstly, the author wrongly assumes that all the residents are using oil based heaters in their houses. People think about money when it comes to investing the money for a long period. Also, they try to minimize the cost as much as possible by considering other possible cheaper resources. As stated by the author, the forecast says that there would be below normal temperature for 90 days around the year for next five years. In this case, the people might think to change their oil heaters, if any, to the more cheaper resource than oil, like electricity. Thus, this tells us that the demand for oil might not increase, rather the people using one might stop using it. And so, the author's assumption of an increase in demand for oil heater won't stand true and people would opt to change their oil-based heater to electricity based one after knowing the forecast for next 5 years.

Secondly, as the author stated, new houses are built in the same region due to growth in population. But, the author hasn't understood it completely. As the houses are build recently, they would surely have all the recent tech and amenities include a heater which isn't oil based. The oil based heaters are old fashioned and fewer few people prefer them due to more maintenance and cost. Furthermore, these high tech heaters would provide more facilities than the oil-based and thus there would be mouth publicity of these products. This all summarizes to a point that the demand for an oil-based heater is going to reduce as there is an advancement in technology which in turn reduce the demand for oil.

Thirdly, oil is needed only for 90 days around the year when there is a need for the heater. Remaining 9 months there won't be any demand for oil. Moreover, people preferring oil heaters might have their own resources for oil and might have invested for the same long ago. Hence, it is not necessary that the demand should increase in upcoming years.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unconvincing as it stands. To support it further, the author can provide better or more concrete evidence, perhaps by conducting a detailed survey. Finally, the author can assess the shreds of evidence or the argument by going into depth of the topic and understand why the region should experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years.