The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time

The issue can be divided into two parts viz. “Technological development” and “getting leisure time because of that”. Now, technological development can be considered as a good part for a growing economy but the part which follows might lead to many pros and cons. Usually, having a leisure time one might spend time with their loved one or might even invest time in society’s betterment but this might also lead a person to inculcate bad habits, will make him/her lazy. Moreover, the technology might overcome human intelligence. Also, it is not necessary that technology advancement should have increasing people’s leisure time as its primary goal. So, looking at various outcomes of the given issue I would like to say that technology advancement should not have increasing people’s efficiency to have more leisure time as its primary goal.

Technological advancement means to provide some better and efficient way to carry out an activity that a human might require much more efforts and time. So, if this human efforts or time are cut down then he might have leisure time but his ability to carry out certainly given task will be hampered and he would find shortcuts in his life. This as a whole point to that the human will become lazy. For example, if technology provides a device that will help people to bring a cup of tea from ground floor to the second floor then people would completely depend on that device and would never go 2 floors down to get a cup of tea. This tells us that along with being lazy, this would create chances of having physical issues and will degrade people’s physical ability.

Secondly, if people get leisure time it will place them in a situation of thinking about how to utilize the free time. So, a person can even inculcate bad habits in the complete course of time. For example, the person might start going to a casino. This will not only change his lifestyle but also can make him grumpy and change his behavior as a person.