The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Some people argue that the fundamental goal of developing technology is to helping people gain more leisure time. However, I can not agree with this statement. Since technology development provide people with more tools and skills to solve more difficult problems, people always have challenges to tackle. What’s more, with the development of technology, job market is getting more competitive, people have to study more time to gain a job opportunity. For these two reasons, it is hard to say that technological achievement is aiming at providing people with more leisure time.

First of all, Although it is true that the advancement of technology improved the efficiency of our job. The invention of e-mail, for instance, not only facilitated people’s communication for daily conversation but also realized the conversation between people in different cities. However, it doesn’t reduce the time we spend on communication, since the ability of frequent communication enabled us to find more topics and conflicts to discuss with each other, therefore, people are actually spending more time no matter in casual conversation with colleges or business meeting thorough online video chat-room. Considering the more problem occurring, no matter the advancement that we have achieved, we are still busying solve the next one.

Secondly, with the development of technologies, there are less labor work due to the massive use of machine to produce product, in the same time, companies are looking for people with higher education and is capable of solving technological problems such as engineers. As we know, engineer major are among the most difficult majors in college education, students has to spend more time in studying to get admitted into such major, and even after they become an engineer, they still need to sacrifice their leisure time to update their knowledge due to the fast changing of technology.

Admittedly, the industrialize and modernize of our society did bring us lots of leisure activities, such as flights allowed us to travel to different countries, however, to be able to pay for the price to enjoy the high technology, people are firstly needs to work hard and then can play harder.

In a word, the primary goal of technology development may bring about high efficiency world to us, it shorted our distance thorough internet communication, and flight we can take to far away places in a short time, however, it does not slow down our pace and give us more leisure time. Higher technology provide us with chances to solve more problems and required us to study more in order to get a job in the competitive job market, it also required us to earn more money to be able to enjoy the technology convenience.