Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who can not afford the tuition.

Education is a right that everyone in a democratic country should possess. The assertion that government should offer education no matter whether an individual is able to afford will sure confirm this right to its people. Despite there are plenty of obstacles and side effects during implementing this policy, it is still worth doing.

First of all, if government will pay for individuals tuition fee for college level education, the overall education level will increase, therefore the country will get massive benefits from it. If everyone is offered a chance to enter university, then people will not jump into labor market after high school education, instead, the knowledge they gain in college will largely improve their professional skills, thus the country’s general work force will be at a high skill level. What’s more, higher education will bring about the faster development of technology, the incoming future is not a labor competitive world, instead, it is the technology achievement that drive the country thriving, in this case, providing free university is an imperative investment.

Secondly, the reason behind one student’s lack of financial supports is the poverty of a whole family and a lack of awareness of the importance of education. Parents who do not have enough saving to support their child’s college tend to educate their child to get a job as soon as finishing high school, then they are more likely to build their own family in the early age and still living at a low socioeconomic status, thus the problem continues persisting. However, if the government eliminated the concern for high price of university education, people under pressure of poverty will receive high level education and more likely secure a job with better pay and improve their family’s financial situation, also they will realize the importance of education, and will be able to and willing to financially support their child to enter college. Gradually, the burden for the government of free education will be less due to the growing financial and education status of its people.

However, there are concerns that whether the government is able to provide such huge of money in supporting this policy when there are many other field requires money badly, admittedly, Other areas like health care and environment protection might will not receive as much support as education due to limited resource. Still the benefits of investing on free education outweighs its disadvantage. For example, it would be wise to educate people about the importance of protect environment, also improving clear energy technology in college research, to helping solving the environment problem we are facing, rather than letting people not realize the problems while government spending huge amount of resource to correcting it. Free education will sure improve the efficiency of conquer problems in other areas.

In a word, the assertion that government should provide free university education is reasonable, for it will bring invaluable outcomes, such as the improvements of people’s education level, financial status, even other areas will also be benefited from it.