Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author deems that the Super Screen Moive Production company needs to spend more budget on advertising to gain more viewers next year. The author based his proposal on several facts he pointed out. He mentioned that there were fewer people viewed their movies last year, and the positive reviews although increased but still not reaching their expactation. He concludes that it is the lack of advertising rather than the quality of the movies that leads to the situation. At the first glance, the author's analogy seems reasonable, however, there are importance questions needs to be addressed to make the proposal a strong and reasonable one.

First of all, Are there any other factors that leads to people attended less time to watch their moives? the author did not provide any answer to it. There are possibilities that another company produced more movies that are cheapper compare with the price of movie of Super Screen Movie. In this case, it is the price that influence people's choice rather than the lack of adversiting, it would be wise to do more research about the price changes in the whole movie market before making any movement. On the contrary, if there are research shows that most people who likes to watch movie but has never heard about the movie produced by Super Screen, it would be reasonable to say that more advertising is the key to gain more future viewers.

Secondly, the author needs to answer the question what is the actual percentage of the positive reviews they recieved. Though he pointed out that the positive reviews increased compare with previous years, however, it would be the fact that the previous year good views were so little that even a small increase seems to be a huge increase. If the answer is that the actual number of percentage of postive reviews is 5 percent, for instance, and it is a big incrase compared with the previous 1 percent, we can not conclude that the quality of the movie is not a problem. In this case, the company needs to spend their budget to increase the quality of movies instead of adverstising.

Moreover, the company need to do more researches about the reviewers' experience with their moive. What do actually they care? They might care about who plays in the movie, or it could be the stories of the movies.Without answering these question and gain a good understanding of the customers, the company can not boldly run the risk of spending money on advertising since it might not produce the expected effect.

Over all, to attract more viewers and recieve more positive reveiws about their moive, the company has to make a wise decision about how to use their budget next year. They need to conduct thorough researches to at least answer the questions i mentioned above to make their decision.